Daily Prompt: Anticipation

Remember that 3 hour-long job interview I had last Wednesday? Well I got an email and today I am going to go back for a 2nd interview. I am very excited, and waiting in anticipation. (See what I did there?) That’s not what we are going to talk about though. Remember the email that got forwarded about “Her shorter terms at each recent job is of concern”? yeah we are going to talk about that and how you should never judge anybody by how long they worked in one position. It is a mistake I made when I was managing the pizza shop. I am much older and wiser now.

I came to California with 1 bag. I left my whole house behind and packed my most important things in a bag and hopped on a plane at 5 am to make the trip across the country.  Now why would I do that? Well my very best friend in the whole wide world Missy Brown was born with Cystic Fibrosis. Cystic fibrosis is an inherited disease caused by a faulty gene. This gene controls the movement of salt and water in and out of your cells, so the lungs and digestive system become clogged with mucus, making it hard to breathe and digest food. There is that textbook definition for those of you who do not know what it is. Long story short I moved here to be her caregiver while she awaited to received a double lung transplant. Talk about anticipation. I was in the ICU waiting room overnight, the lungs we were promised that day did not make it to the hospital. Missy was asleep under the impression that when she woke up there would be lungs, new lungs inside of her. Allowing her to take the next breath. The TV was on playing crappy Jerry Springer, TMZ  or something. I did not really know I was working on making button wire Starbucks cup flowers. Missy could not have real flowers in the ICU, obviously. I mean double lung transplant, duh. I waited and I made flowers while I waited for her to wake up, and I wrote stories while I waited, and worked on the flowers and I took selfies.

img_5557
These are the flowers I made

Collin made me a real good salad that I was munching on, mostly nervous eating at the time. Well while waiting in anticipation for the nurse to come get me to tell me when she woke up. I was devastated to have to be the one to tell her that the lungs did not make it. That we were once again back on the waiting list. That we had to keep waiting and be positive and know that somewhere there were lungs. It was going to be hard.

I didn’t have to do it. The nurse came out to me at 3:50 AM. “She woke up, I told her about the lungs, she cried.”

So I wrote a lot more about my anger towards the nurse, but it is unnecessary. I was mad, but there was nothing I could do. So I went to see Missy. We talked about the news, and the dogs and made fun of the boys. I showed her the flowers I was working on, and eventually she was sleepy and needed to rest so they made me leave.

The next 2.5 days were filled with anticipation, waiting for that call about another set of lungs. They can’t fail twice, the second time was bound to be the call. The one that would change everything forever.

Missy passed away July 5th 2015. We got the wrong call.

“Her shorter terms at each recent job is of concern”

The other two “jobs” are volunteer gigs I did, for the National Kidney Walk, and an Art Studio Open House. If you read my resume you would know that.

To learn more about CF

https://www.cff.org/What-is-CF/About-Cystic-Fibrosis/

and this is Missy’s website, if you are interested to see that

http://missybreathes.com/

via Daily Prompt: Anticipation

Leave a Reply

