Got to get ya into my life

 I have realized that most people who drive do not pay attention to what is happening around them.  ANYTHING.  Now this may come as a shock to some, or not a shock at all to others. (Those of you know who you are) I would like to share now what a normal bike commute to is like. This is in no way complaining. If I did not enjoy bike commuting I would not do it. Duh.

So I wake up about 1 to 1.5 hours before I leave, do morning things like coffee and email checking. I get all dressed in my riding gear, grab my bag, pump my tires, check my lights and away we go! The first 2 minutes of my ride is peaceful and quiet

img_2281
Street so calm

then I have to turn on to Senter. Senter and Capitol Expressway is a major intersection, did I mention the school on the corner as well? No. Well it’s called Andrew Hill. Its also a great spot to learn how to use your breaks. Nobody is more frantic in the morning than parents dropping kids off at school. Sorry moms and dads everywhere, I mean no harm. Love you all.  Finally you pass the History Park, The Friendship Garden img_1982and Senter becomes the death zone. Why? Well unless turning right you have to get over to the left turn lane. Do that successfully and you, well you don’t die. Most people survive, my theory is if I can do it, anybody can do it. We get to 11th street, which is fun and easy. Really it’s not too bad, except when the bike lane is misused. Example A

img_2169
Misuse of bike lane.

The left onto San Fernando can be a LITTLE tricky, after a few times you get the hang of it. So now we are on San Fernando. This is where is gets fun. You are downtown. With cars, busses, other bikes, people walking, VTA light rails and skateboards as well. Sometimes the people on skateboards think that the picture of a bike is actually a funny looking skateboard, so they use the bike lane as well.

Once I arrive downtown I am in the home stretch, well more like the work stretch. I hop on the VTA file_000-5and get dropped off right across from work. A minute ride to the bike rack, lock my bike and I’m good.

That’s how I get to work.

I’m going to start making cookies for the holidays soon. Here is the first recipe I’m planning on trying. Hot Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies. MMMMMM. Wish me luck.

HCMC!

Leave a Reply

