I did this

It is cold, I have been working a lot. I have not been baking a lot. BUT! yesterday I got out of work on time and there was no polo due to the fact that it is cold and wet and hailing. No lie, hail all over SJ. So I took advantage of the opportunity and made small batch chocolate cupcakes. I have never made chocolate cupcakes from scratch before. It was way easy, like stupid easy. I got the recipe from the internets, and I tweaked it a little bit. Same with the frosting. They took like 45 minutes to make and 3 seconds to eat. Today there are 3 left,

IMG_3339
Breakfast?

and I am fighting myself to not have one for breakfast. Here is the recipe

  • 1/2 cup of white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons oil (I used EVOO, but vegetable oil works as well it’s just what I had)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup hot water

Take all the dry ingredients and mix them together. Don’t forget the cinnamon,

IMG_3337
Super clutch
IMG_3336
Dry Mixin’

it is so super clutch here. After those are well mixed add the egg, HWC, oil and vanilla. Once all that is mixed add your hot water and mix that all up, make sure you have no lumps and that it looks thin. I had to add a little extra water to get the consistency that I wanted.

It made 6 cupcakes, which I baked at 350 for 19 minutes. Very specific I know, start with 15 and go from there.  Next I made the Frosting:

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter (Softened)
  • 1 & 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 teaspoons heavy whipping cream

Now this part is easy, just mix it all up till it looks like frosting. I threw it in the fridge for about an hour while I waited for the cupcakes to cool. Once they cooled I frosted them, flirted with the idea of sprinkles and then decided to keep it classic.

There you have it, I made cupcakes. Now you can as well!

IMG_3338
Nom Nom Nom

 

 

Leave a Reply

