Bike Ride

I grew up in Rochester, New York.21802-rochester-locator-map I used to ride a bike every now and then if it wasn’t snowing.

A couple of years ago Missy asked me if I would be help her. I would have to leave Rochester and move to San Jose, CA.

Two years ago I left Rochester for San Jose, to help Missy. In just three months we had more adventures in SJ then we ever did in Rochester. We had ups and downs, but no matter what we were always there for each other.

IMG_5340
We made chalkboard lists every day.

There were a lot of people who were ready to jump in and help Missy at any given moment. There were friends, family, and total strangers. Doctors, Nurses, Dietitians and Respiratory therapists, the person at the Stanford valet who was always ready to help Missy get into or out of the car if needed.

IMG_5371
A real nice tow truck driver let us take selfies on the way home. (One day I will tell that story)

So many people jumped to help, sometimes without being asked.

That was one of the most wonderful things I have ever seen. Now I am seeing it again in the way of the Cystic Fibrosis Cycle for Life ride. People have been training, people have been donating, people are volunteering. It gives me chills, in a good way.

“Is there anything you need me to do when I get home?” I asked Missy one day while leaving Stanford.

“Will you ride my bike for me?” she replied

“Of course”

On June 17th I will be riding for Missy. 

Here is a link to the team page, Team Missy-Llaneous,  anything you can give would be appreciated. Not just by our team, by the whole CF community.

 

Leave a Reply

